For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.

Live edits

Edit pages in real-time with other collaborators

With live edits enabled, members in your org can edit a section without creating a change request. When editing content, you can see the avatars of anyone currently viewing the section in the top-right corner.

GitBook supports live collaboration, meaning you’ll be able to work on the same document with multiple members at the same time.

Live edits are locked by default in any newly created section. To edit the content, you will either need to create a change request, or toggle live edits on.

Toggling live edit mode

You can toggle live edit mode in a section by clicking Lock live edits or Unlock live edits in the section header’s Actions menu The Actions menu icon in GitBook.

When a section is in Live edits mode, the section header will show the Editor tab. When it is in Locked live edits mode, the section header will show a Read-only tab. When the Read-only tab appears in the section header, you will need to open a change request to edit the content of the page, or unlock live edits.

When is live editing not available?

You cannot unlock live editing if:

  1. a section is published with the Public or Unlisted visibility option.

  2. a section has GitHub or GitLab Sync enabled.

Only administrators and creators can lock or unlock live edits.

Last updated

Was this helpful?

Powered by GitBook